Tavon - Unluckiest dude ever

  • To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

GoodBadUgly

Gridiron Sage
Rams On Demand Sponsor
SportsBook Bookie
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
2,010
Name
Phil
...unless we're talking contract, of course.

But yet another called back TD run? Really? On the QB? Literally never seen that called. EVER!

I've never been the biggest TA fan, but I have to admit the guy has skills. It was a pretty sight to see him turn on those afterburners. His expression after the penalty was priceless.

I hope he busts out next year when a real offense is installed.
 
...unless we're talking contract, of course.

But yet another called back TD run? Really? On the QB? Literally never seen that called. EVER!

I've never been the biggest TA fan, but I have to admit the guy has skills. It was a pretty sight to see him turn on those afterburners. His expression after the penalty was priceless.

I hope he busts out next year when a real offense is installed.

Avitar kicks ass, so you get a high five!

And yes TA has terrible luck:sadwalk:
 
I need to watch it again but my reaction was that call was BS. Rams just get no love from the refs and for good reason: they know they're bad. It looked like that was the way it was drawn up and I've seen it done before, but again will need to rewatch it.
 
Goff was going horizontal at the snap. One player not on the line may move horizontally at pre snap. Bad call.
 
Goff was going horizontal at the snap. One player not on the line may move horizontally at pre snap. Bad call.

I recall a QB years ago, on a trick play like that, was walking toward the sideline (faking his disgust and slapping off his chin strap) right when the ball was snapped.

What is the difference where one is legal and the other not?

Unless the rule changed or there is a detail I am missing, I don't know.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tron
I've never seen a player have as many big plays and TDs called as Tavon Austin. I would say he is cursed, but really, it is the Rams that are cursed because if Austin switched teams I'm certain his luck would suddenly improve.
 
Why wasn't Goff just considered another man in motion, like a receiver doing so? He didn't appear to be moving toward the LOS from my vantage point. Regarding Tavon, imagine what he'd do in the Patriots offense. He'd probably be a Pro-Bowler.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ram65
What was the play? Some sort of trickery? Sounds like a cool play but I missed the game
 
This could be it.


https://usafootball.com/blogs/funda...-are-governed-by-movement,-not-vocal-commands

USA Football Rules Editor Bill LeMonnier is a former college referee who currently serves as an ESPN NCAA rules analyst. Click here to ask Bill a question. Make sure to put “Ask the Official” in the subject line.

***

I coach Jr. Peewee and got called a few times last year for an illegal shift or illegal motion when I sent a wing back in motion on “Set.” I have my line go to three-point stance on “set” and don't use a leg signal for motion. I never get called sending a wide flanker in motion using “set,” but when the slot back is where the tight end would be – but off the line – I was told that the rest of the line had to be set before he could go in motion. Is that correct?

To put a player in motion, all 11 players must set for one second. After all 11 players are set, one player may go in motion parallel or back from the line of scrimmage. If the motion player starts before all 11 players are set, it is an illegal shift or motion penalty.
 
This could be it.


https://usafootball.com/blogs/funda...-are-governed-by-movement,-not-vocal-commands

USA Football Rules Editor Bill LeMonnier is a former college referee who currently serves as an ESPN NCAA rules analyst. Click here to ask Bill a question. Make sure to put “Ask the Official” in the subject line.

***

I coach Jr. Peewee and got called a few times last year for an illegal shift or illegal motion when I sent a wing back in motion on “Set.” I have my line go to three-point stance on “set” and don't use a leg signal for motion. I never get called sending a wide flanker in motion using “set,” but when the slot back is where the tight end would be – but off the line – I was told that the rest of the line had to be set before he could go in motion. Is that correct?

To put a player in motion, all 11 players must set for one second. After all 11 players are set, one player may go in motion parallel or back from the line of scrimmage. If the motion player starts before all 11 players are set, it is an illegal shift or motion penalty.
Yep. that is what they called but it was ticky-tacky call He did put his hands under center for a split sec but no he wasn't set as his body was still moving
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ram65
...unless we're talking contract, of course.

But yet another called back TD run? Really? On the QB? Literally never seen that called. EVER!

I've never been the biggest TA fan, but I have to admit the guy has skills. It was a pretty sight to see him turn on those afterburners. His expression after the penalty was priceless.

I hope he busts out next year when a real offense is installed.
I just couldn't believe it when the TD was called back! I felt like I was kicked in the ... and that the Team was robbed!
kick-in-the-gut.gif
unbelievable.gif
 
I recall a QB years ago, on a trick play like that, was walking toward the sideline (faking his disgust and slapping off his chin strap) right when the ball was snapped.

What is the difference where one is legal and the other not?

Unless the rule changed or there is a detail I am missing, I don't know.

Both Kurt Warner and Peyton Manning executed that trick play on the very same weekend. Both fooled the defense pretty well, although I tend to give Kurt the Oscar over Peyton for his performance. I believe the one you are cited was, in fact, Kurt, pulling off his chin strap and acting like he was disgusted with the play while the center snapped the ball directly to Marshall (I believe).

I don't know whether the rules committee had the rule modified since then, but I certainly see no difference between what Jared did as opposed to Kurt/Peyton.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Merlin and CGI_Ram
I recall a QB years ago, on a trick play like that, was walking toward the sideline (faking his disgust and slapping off his chin strap) right when the ball was snapped.

What is the difference where one is legal and the other not?

Unless the rule changed or there is a detail I am missing, I don't know.
Not sure if you're trolling, but it was Warner.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CGI_Ram