I'm Confused

  • To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

Steve808

Hall of Fame
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Messages
2,074
Name
Steve
So I saw several instances where Stafford, not in danger of taking a sack, throw a ball downfield but the receiver ran the opposite way. It was called intentional grounding on more than one occasion.

Today, Sam Darnold had 4 Rams about to sack him and he throws it 20 yards out of bounds with no receiver in the area, while he was in the pocket.

A flag comes out and I assume it's intentional grounding. But no, they F-N call the Rams for holding. The whiners ended up scoring a TD because of the free first down.

So what the heck is intentional grounding these days? I thought it was throwing a pass with no receivers in the area to avoid a sack while in the pocket.
 
That should have been intentional grounding. I've noticed in other games that the refs haven't been calling the bullshit groundings where it was clear the WR ran the wrong route. Apparently, they reserve that for us.
 
There is a separate set of rules for when the Rams play.
It's true. It's been that way for as long as I can remember. I'm not saying it's any kind of conspiracy to screw us, it's just how it's been, for whatever myriad of reasons

I think part of mcvays genius has been having so many young and inexperienced guys consistently playing super clean, penalty-free football, giving the refs nothing to work with. He doesn't push the edge of penalty boundaries like so many others and even when the refs royally bugger us , he keeps quiet publicly, while apparently staying on them behind the scenes.
At times it almost annoys me... I want him to flip out when we get screwed, and I kind of like it when teams play on that edge.... but that's why McVay is so brilliant and I'm just a fan... he knows the Rams can't play on those boundaries. That cliche about "beating the refs, too" is true and Sean McVay actually knows how to do it
 
Hard to disagree with @Steve808 . There was no realistic chance of completion. Was Darnold still in the pocket (within the tackles)? The hit would not have caused him to throw the ball 20 feet over the receiver. It could have caused him to throw it short.

It would have been offsetting penalties as JJIII was also flagged for holding though televised replay never showed the alleged foul.
 
they did show the "holding" on JJ3, but it was more from three camera behind the LOS
 
they did show the "holding" on JJ3, but it was more from three camera behind the LOS
I couldn’t make anything out. Would have liked to have seen the reverse camera angle being shot from the back of the end zone
 
I couldn’t make anything out. Would have liked to have seen the reverse camera angle being shot from the back of the end zone
yeah, they were trying to show the 4 dudes chasing Darnold and they quickly pointed out the hold
 
They called one of those groundings on Josh Allen, and I bet that once it happened to one of the NFL's darlings (and on national TV too IIRC) they talked about it and decided to not call it anymore
 
Sometimes have to be careful being influenced by what the announcers are saying. (it Seems their yapping influenced the perception of the play by some of the posters in this thread).

Darnold was out of the pocket - that's why no grounding.


View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFWnzwmvYuU


7:17 of video if you care enough to check it.
 
Last edited:
Sometimes have to be careful being influenced by what the announcers are saying.

Darnold was out of the pocket - thats why no grounding.


View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFWnzwmvYuU


7:17 of video if you care enough to check it.

That play was really close to being inside the pocket. It's not clear cut on that view.

I will have to watch the all 22 when it is available tomorrow (tonight will be too late) and post the shots to really see if he was inside or outside the pocket.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamFan503
That play was really close to being inside the pocket. It's not clear cut on that view.

I will have to watch the all 22 when it is available tomorrow (tonight will be too late) and post the shots to really see if he was inside or outside the pocket.
really?

Looks pretty clear that he was out of the pocket to me.

yeah just watched it again... pretty clear honestly.

Look at the hash marks - he clears both of them.
 
really?

Looks pretty clear that he was out of the pocket to me.
Look at where the right tackle is lined up initially and then look at where Darnold is when he throws.

It is really close. Again - I want to see the ALL 22 before I can really judge if he was inside or outside the pocket.
 
If there is holding of a receiver, or Pass interference, then that negates the intentional grounding.

Even though Darnold had no chance to find an open receiver, due to the pass rush, the idea is that if there is no holding, then that receiver may have been open to throw the ball too.
 
If there is holding of a receiver, or Pass interference, then that negates the intentional grounding.

Even though Darnold had no chance to find an open receiver, due to the pass rush, the idea is that if there is no holding, then that receiver may have been open to throw the ball too.
would have been offsetting penalties.
 
  • Like
Reactions: FaulkSF
really?

Looks pretty clear that he was out of the pocket to me.

yeah just watched it again... pretty clear honestly.

Look at the hash marks - he clears both of them.
It’s not the hash marks, it’s the tackle box. Previous spot was on the right hash. I don’t know if he cleared four yards to the right before chucking the ball into the stands.